2019 General Election

Buhari Wins in Akpabio’s Unit in Akwa Ibom

President Muhammadu Buhari, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has won in the polling unit of Sen. Godswill Akpabio in Akwa Ibom.
Akpabio, a former Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governor of Akwa Ibom and former senate Minority Leader, defected to the APC and is currently the APC senatorial candidate for Akwa Ibom North West.
Buhari got 1553 votes to win his closest opponent in the PDP, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, who polled 11 votes in Ukana West 2, unit 9, Essien Udim Local Government Area in Akwa Ibom, Akpabio’s unit.
In the senatorial election result, Akpabio won in the unit with 1533 votes while the PDP senatorial candidate, Chris Ekpenyong got 4 votes.
Speaking after the declaration of the result, Akpabio commended INEC and security agencies for conducting a peaceful election in the state.
He blamed the PDP for election rigging in the state, saying that was why 400 thugs were recently arrested by security operatives.
Akpabio said PDP was now jittery knowing that security operatives had risen to their responsibility, saying three trucks of thugs imported to the state were apprehended.
“When I was a governor I gave respect to the people. I did not use thugs. I am a lawmaker and will never allow myself in anything that will disrupt Buhari’s administration.
“I am pleading that elections should not be war as we are peaceful in this unit,” he said. (NAN)

Borno Gov, Deputy Deliver Polling Units to APC
Michael Olugbode in Maiduguri
The Borno State Governor Kashim Shettima has delivered to President Muhammadu Buhari, his Alhaji Kukawa 023 polling unit in Lamisula ward of Maiduguri to the All Progressives Congress (APC).
President Buhari of the APC scored 190 votes, while Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) got 21 votes.
For Borno Central Senatorial district, which Governor Shettima is contesting, his party, the APC, scored 177 votes, while his opponent, Senator Mohammed Abba Aji of the PDP, polled 21 votes.
For the House of Representatives, APC’s candidate, AbdulKadir Rahis, scored 177, while PDP’s candidate, AbdulSalam Kachallah, scored 30 votes.
The Deputy Governor of the state, Usman Durkwa, was also able to deliver his polling unit at Bakin Kasuwa, Shaffa town in Hawul Local Government Area to President Buhari who polled 288 votes, while Atiku of the PDP scored only two votes.
Unfortunately, the PDP senatorial candidate, Borno South, Mr. Kudla Satumari, scored 240 votes to defeat the incumbent on the platform of the ruling APC, Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume, former Senate Majority leader.
The APC candidate for Askira Uba/Hawul Federal Constituency, Dr. Haruna Mshelia polled 207 votes, while his rival from the opposition PDP, Emmanuel Bassi, scored 81 votes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close